Can I connect Chromebook to my large screen - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums  

 

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2011, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 44
Default Can I connect Chromebook to my large screen

If I want to watch an online movie or internet tv on a larger screen, can I connect Chromebook to it? If so, how? my husband is a movie addict when he's relaxing and that's all he does online.
chroming is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-06-2011, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 38
Default

Do you mean watching the movie from a Chromebook but on a larger external screen? I would assume this is possible but I would prefer watching it on my laptop.
tbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
BWR
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 53
Default

The Samsung Chromebook comes with an adapter from the Display Port on the Samsung to a VGA connector which you could connect to a larger monitor or many newer TVs.
BWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
homer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Yep, in fact there are some Chromebook owners on the forum who are already connecting their Chromebooks to their televisions. They are lurking around here someone, but I am sure they will tell you how they do it when they see this.
homer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
russcasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 264
Default

No worries. Samsung has vga connection, acer has hdmi.
With a modern telly all you need is the right cable.
russcasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 05:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Moderator
 
russcasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 264
Default

Update - today I plugged mine into a rather lovely Acer projector, and was flabbergasted to see it project at 1600*1200 resolution. It seems the CB will provide an output at the maximum resolution supported by whatever you connect to it. Dual screen output doesn't work though - the CB's screen goes blank when you connect the external display. I guess this is reasonable with the difference in resolutions.
russcasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 38
Default

Russ, that is some amazing resolution. I was sure someone would soon discover something like that. Fortunately modern TVs are designed in such a way that they can be used with other devices.
tbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Default

Yes I tested this with my CR-48 at work (1920x1080) screen with VGA and it worked awesome..but you can only have on up and running at once...no dual screening.
Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Site Navigation
» Home
»
 > Search
 > FAQ
»
Facebook
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2