Can you connect a SIM card? - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums  

 

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2011, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 100
Default Can you connect a SIM card?

I am trying to figure out what can connect to a Chromebook and what can't. I have most of it figured out. How about SIM cards, can you connect them with the Chromebook?
zora is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2011, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zora View Post
I am trying to figure out what can connect to a Chromebook and what can't. I have most of it figured out. How about SIM cards, can you connect them with the Chromebook?
The ones sold in the US come equipped with Verizon CDMA/EVDO modem, so while there is a SIM card slot, it's not operational.

Your experience may vary in other parts of the world.
legalalien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by legalalien View Post
The ones sold in the US come equipped with Verizon CDMA/EVDO modem, so while there is a SIM card slot, it's not operational.

Your experience may vary in other parts of the world.
Yes but the chip is also GSM which is world wide. Which means when the Alex ships world wide then it will be fully unlocked. There is guide at a different forum on how to get it working in the Beta Channel and Dev Channel.
Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 10:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason View Post
Yes but the chip is also GSM which is world wide. Which means when the Alex ships world wide then it will be fully unlocked. There is guide at a different forum on how to get it working in the Beta Channel and Dev Channel.
Aha. Thanks for pointing out that the modem is actually the same. Here's an official how-to on using GSM/UMTS hardware: Using mobile broadband abroad - Chrome OS Help

I should try this with my 'unlimited' T-Mobile plan and not worry about 100MB limit.
legalalien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by legalalien View Post
Aha. Thanks for pointing out that the modem is actually the same. Here's an official how-to on using GSM/UMTS hardware: Using mobile broadband abroad - Chrome OS Help

I should try this with my 'unlimited' T-Mobile plan and not worry about 100MB limit.
Ok, switching to T-Mobile and back was quite painless, and data connection worked without any extra configuration. However, since the Gobi modem used in Chromebooks does not support T-Mobile US 3G frequencies, I was limited to EDGE - not a particularly satisfying experience. So I switched back, but it's good to know that there's always a backup available.
legalalien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by legalalien View Post
Ok, switching to T-Mobile and back was quite painless, and data connection worked without any extra configuration. However, since the Gobi modem used in Chromebooks does not support T-Mobile US 3G frequencies, I was limited to EDGE - not a particularly satisfying experience. So I switched back, but it's good to know that there's always a backup available.
I agree since my experience with EDGE has never been the best so far. I was wondering if the Chromebooks have started being sold outside of the US. I think it might be sometime before it gets to other parts of the world.
tbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, England
Posts: 24
Default

tbull
I received my Samsung 5 3G yesterday in UK and have so far been using it only on WiFi but I understand that there is an arrangement with the network operator 3 for SIM cards that you use when needed. Have not looked into it yet but will do soon enough. All operators in UK use GSM standard so no issue on GSM vs CDMA here and also that is case in Europe.
modelportfolio2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 10:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I'm using a Samsung 5 3G (which I got from the USA) here in Canada and the 3G modem works perfectly with the Telus and Rogers networks in GSM mode. I did change the system to disable Verizon network to a generic UMTS network
lucboucim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 11:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucboucim View Post
I'm using a Samsung 5 3G (which I got from the USA) here in Canada and the 3G modem works perfectly with the Telus and Rogers networks in GSM mode. I did change the system to disable Verizon network to a generic UMTS network
I'm in the same boat as you are, however I have a Bell SIM card. It should work as it uses the same frequencies as Telus GSM, but I've had no luck.

My Samsung 5 is very adamant on setting up a Verizon CDMA connection. What steps did you do to change switch to a generic UMTS network?
adamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 11:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamm View Post
I'm in the same boat as you are, however I have a Bell SIM card. It should work as it uses the same frequencies as Telus GSM, but I've had no luck.

My Samsung 5 is very adamant on setting up a Verizon CDMA connection. What steps did you do to change switch to a generic UMTS network?
Use this procedure: Using mobile broadband abroad - Chrome OS Help
legalalien is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


» Site Navigation
» Home
»
 > Search
 > FAQ
»
Facebook
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2