Networking with a domain - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-27-2011, 02:25 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Networking with a domain

A big hole I can see so far in this design is how to handle business environments which use Windows domains. I have had a test unit for a couple days now and can't figure out how to access network resources when connected to the domain's LAN. Anyone else notice this?
chrisakans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-27-2011, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 50
Since it is a test unit, those are the types of things I think they would want to know, and you should tell them about it.
Clinquant is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-01-2011, 12:37 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Advice taken, thanks man!
chrisakans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-01-2011, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
modder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to modder
Quoting the ChromeOS support page:

Quote:
Do Chromebooks integrate into Windows(r) Active Directory?
Yes. Chromebooks integrate with GAIA / Google Apps accounts and Google Apps accounts can be synced to a company's Active Directory servers through use of our LDAP Sync technology.
modder is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011, 04:07 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
What about Remote Desktop?

I would like to use the Chromebook as a device to access my Domain via Remote Desktop. I assume there will be an app for that? And have they addressed the Wi-Fi Security issue at all???
sobrien9 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-05-2011, 11:24 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
cannot use

i need to authenicate to a WAP2 WiFi. How long will it be until available?
dfeiling is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-08-2011, 09:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
GApps synced to AD via LDAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by modder View Post
Quoting the ChromeOS support page:
Do Chromebooks integrate into Windows(r) Active Directory?
Yes. Chromebooks integrate with GAIA / Google Apps accounts and Google Apps accounts can be synced to a company's Active Directory servers through use of our LDAP Sync technology.
I can confirm this works.
chromerock is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-08-2011, 09:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
WiFI WPA2

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfeiling View Post
i need to authenicate to a WAP2 WiFi. How long will it be until available?
It looked like it was going to on two different WAP2 networks, but it failed for me. I reduced the security to WEP until it worked.

I would like to use WAP2 or at least something better than WEP
chromerock is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-09-2011, 02:38 AM
Super Moderator
 
russcasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 264
Try thinvnc for remote desktop.
russcasey is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-11-2011, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
modder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to modder
Quote:
Originally Posted by chromerock View Post
It looked like it was going to on two different WAP2 networks, but it failed for me. I reduced the security to WEP until it worked.

I would like to use WAP2 or at least something better than WEP
Is it a specific error you are getting or is the option just not there? I didn't realise it wasn't supported.
modder is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome