Keyboard Problems German Layout - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Keyboard Problems German Layout

Hi there

all of a sudden my Chromebook isn't working correctly.

I have Problems with the German-Umlauts as there are:
, , , , ,,

If i type this keys I get different letters e.g. ; if I typoe .

I have tried everything, even a factory reset.
I am feeling as i searched the whole wide web till its end.

The language in the settings is correct!

Also de is shown in the right edge.

Has anyone a tip for me?

Greetigs Reggie from Germany
Reggie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-11-2012, 11:08 AM
Member
 
guidol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reggie View Post
If i type this keys I get different letters e.g. ; if I typoe .
The language in the settings is correct!
Greetigs Reggie from Germany
Sound like you got US-Keyboard loaded even when a german keyboard is selected, because on the -Key is on the US-Keyboard the ;

Do you get a Z on the Y-Key?
The DE-Sign is only in the upper right at the Login-Screen.
Did you check the Chrome-Browser Settings after the Login?
Einstellungen->System->Sprachen und Eingabe

Did you use another system with chrome where the Keyboard could be in the US-Setting and this would be synchronized via the web to your chromebook

Youd could try to switch between the installed Keyboard-Layouts:
Alt+Umschalttaste -> vorwaerts
Strg+Leertaste ->rueckwaerts
(so zu sehen in der obigen Sprachenkonfiguration)

Nice Greetings from Germany near Frankfurt/Main
guidol is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-11-2012, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Hi Guido,

thank for the answer!
Unfortunatley none of your tips helped.

Surprisingly if I type z I get z! Correct! If I type y i get y!

But if I...
type -> I get
-> [
-> {
-> ;
-> :
-> '
-> "
-> -
z -> z
Z -> Z
y -> y
Y -> Y

I noticed this after my daughter were surfing in facbook. But I I am not sure whther this is the cause of my problems

desperate....
Reggie
Reggie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 04:21 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
I have the same problem since some days - and since I have a new rooter, but maybe thats zufall. But today the keyboard doesnt work at all.
Sebastian is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 06:32 AM
Member
 
guidol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastian View Post
I have the same problem since some days - and since I have a new rooter, but maybe thats zufall. But today the keyboard doesnt work at all.
I thinks that really "Zufall"
I got a Chromebook with US-Keyboard but with german Menue.
If I switch to DE Keyboard all chars do work fine in German (Umlaute)
and they do work like on the keyboard when I switch back to US-Keyboard.

So could it be a problem with your software
(are you on dev or test-channel)?

Iam on the stable Channel and the last Update takes me to
Google Chrome 17.0.963.78
Plattform 1412.231.0 (Official Build) stable-channel x86-alex

At/On which version are you? (see at "ber Chrome OS")
guidol is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Hallo Guido,

My Menu-Items are mostly in German (except Tools, Lock Screen, Downloads). But I have no "ber Chrome OS"
This is in english: "About..." strange, do I have mixed language system?

On the About-page there stands:

ber Google Chrome
A web browser built for speed, simplicity, and security
Version 19.0.1055.3 dev
Plattform 1861.3.0 (Official Build) dev-channel x86-alex_he
Firmware Alex.03.61.0735.0056G3.0021
More info
Google Chrome is up to date.
Get help with using Chrome
Reggie is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 02:54 AM
Member
 
guidol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reggie View Post
On the About-page there stands:
ber Google Chrome
A web browser built for speed, simplicity, and security
Version 19.0.1055.3 dev
Plattform 1861.3.0 (Official Build) dev-channel x86-alex_he
Ahh, you are on the Dev-Channel. The Dev-Channel and the Beta-Channel arent as much stable as the Stable-Channel.
They got newer features but more bugs to live with.
Did you ever do use the little switch at the simcard slot to switch to dev-mode?
Then you have to switch back and restore your chromebook to default vua a restore-USB-Stick.

If you switch back in the "ueber Google Chrome" to stable, then you will get stable WHEN stable has come to the version of the dev-Version.

It could be that the support in the dev-channel is broken at this time for the german language.

First try to switch to normal ROM-Boot (at the simcard slot) and then restore the normal image via usb..... and then first try to use stable-channel
guidol is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 07:44 AM
Member
 
guidol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
guidol is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-13-2012, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Hi Guido,

I am a little bit confused.
I bought my Chromebooked used over eBay.
I worked fine.
As I said suddenly I had this problem.
To fix it I switched it to dev-mode to do a factory reset.
I followod a description I found in somewhere in the internet.
All data were and accounts where deleted.
But the problem is still there.

Now I checked the switch again. It is pushed to the left if a look on it.
This must be the dev-mode?
This confuses me because that would mean that it was in dev-mode from the beginning because I switched it right and back left as descriped.

Now if i put it to the right, the chromebook does'nt boot.
It is then in the recovery mode.

Thanks for the links
I will read it again
By the way I do not have an USB_Stick with the firmware on it :-(

Reggie
Reggie is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-14-2012, 02:11 AM
Member
 
guidol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reggie View Post
By the way I do not have an USB_Stick with the firmware on it :-(
when you read the page "Ihr Chromebook wiederherstellen" then you will find at Point 2 instructions for creating the usb-stick with Windows, Mac or Linux.
guidol is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome