Google Drive & Files query - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 10:02 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Google Drive & Files query

Hiya.

I have downloaded some files via torrent and managed to save it on my Google Drive. But i noticed i cannot move or drag them to my Downloads folder under Files.

Also , when i inserted a brand-new 32GB SD card i also have the same problem being unable to drag those files to the SD card.

I also noticed i cannot create a folder within my SD card. Is this normal?

There seem to be a very limited functionality of Google Drive & Files and one cannot drag n' drop files to each "folder"


Please enlighten me. Thanks.
gino76ph is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 10:25 AM
Super Moderator
 
Robbie Dalziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands...
Posts: 354
All possible...

Hi there...

All the things you've described, can be achieved... But have you formatted the new SD card, before attempting to make all those changes... It is important to do so and sometimes that helps...

Then, to move files from G Drive to Download, if you cannot drag and drop, highlight the file in G Drive, right click and select copy. Highlight the Download tab, right click in the open page and select paste... That should do the trick...

The same apples to moving files to the SD card... It can be done the same way... Plus... In the open SD page. right click and 'New Folder' is at the bottom of the menu list... Click on that to achieve...

To format the SD card in the CB, plug it in the slot and when the name appears, right click and select format... Such needs to be FAT 32, which it's programmed to do...

Let me know how you get on please...





We can only survive on this earth, as long as we're able to serve the purpose for which we came here...

Therein lies the 64,000 dollar question: 'What might that be'???
Robbie Dalziel is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 11:34 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
I have tried copying a file from G Drive (by Right click), went to SD card folder and when i right click all the functions including paste is greyed out so i cannot do anything.

At the moment i can however copy the same file from G Drive then i was able to paste it onto the Downloads folder.

I have formatted my SD card twice and still i don't know what's happening. Its either my SD card isn't of good quality (PNY from PC World) or the OS is preventing me to do something.

When i'm in my Downloads folder i tried dragging the file to my SD card but it only says "Copying...." but doesn't seem to move forward. And whilst i was dragging it a symbol of something like that would indicate "not possible" or a circle with an "X" in it appeared. The said file (a sample 5 minute .mp4) isn't that big of a file.

My SD card is brand new. But when i tried formatting the CB says "Error during formatting". This is doing my head in.

Last edited by gino76ph; 05-04-2014 at 11:37 AM.
gino76ph is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 12:36 PM
Super Moderator
 
Robbie Dalziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands...
Posts: 354
Re Copying...

Hello again Gino...

This is interesting, because in many ways, this is exactly what was happening to someone in Australia who I was helping... He too had problems using an SD card and we never did discover what that problem was...

The way he got around it, was to use a newly formatted USB flash drive, moving no more than ten files at a time... Have you got a memory stick??? If so, it might be worth a try...





We can only survive on this earth, as long as we're able to serve the purpose for which we came here...

Therein lies the 64,000 dollar question: 'What might that be'???
Robbie Dalziel is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 04:26 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
I haven't got a memory stick i'm afraid but i think i may have solved the problem.

Was talking to a Google Support Specialist over the phone (this is also one reason that attracted me to a CB because of a freephone 24/7 support line). The SD card "Lock" sign is the other way around. I set it to Unlock but it is actually locked. Stupid PNY. I then went to G Drive, did the two finger drag n' drop thingy and i managed to drag it to my Downloads and SD card folder. That did the trick.

I still can't format the SD card directly via the CB for some reason and i think this is a bug in the OS that Google needs to sort out in the next update.
gino76ph is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-04-2014, 05:24 PM
Super Moderator
 
Robbie Dalziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands...
Posts: 354
Re: formatting

Don't be too downhearted Gino... Leaving the lock tab in the wrong place is something we've all done at one time or another... I'm so pleased that you've sorted it out and that you've told us how you did it...
A fistful of kudos for that my friend...

As for formatting, try doing that on your windows laptop ~ I think I remember you saying you had one ~ making sure that you do it as FAT 32... That might just do the trick...





We can only survive on this earth, as long as we're able to serve the purpose for which we came here...

Therein lies the 64,000 dollar question: 'What might that be'???
Robbie Dalziel is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 23
Yeah i do have a Windows laptop (my wife's). Ill see if i can format it there and check if it is indeed Fat32 format.

I think these little quirks of frustration is normal as someone who is new to Chhromebooks. I feel there are loads of room in the OS to improve on (because there will be the inevitable comparison to a Windows & a Macbook computer plus you got Android OS too) and i make sure if i have an idea or issue i go to "Report an Issue" and hoping Google reads it and do something about it.
gino76ph is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-10-2014, 03:10 AM
Super Moderator
 
Robbie Dalziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands...
Posts: 354
Formatting an SD card...

Hi Gino... To quote you: "I still can't format the SD card directly via the CB for some reason and I think this is a bug in the OS that Google needs to sort out in the next update" Un-quote...

Question... How did you go about trying to format your SD card via the Chromebook, when it was showing on the left of the screen???





We can only survive on this earth, as long as we're able to serve the purpose for which we came here...

Therein lies the 64,000 dollar question: 'What might that be'???
Robbie Dalziel is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome