Something I just found out. - Page 2 - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-10-2011, 04:53 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: woodbridge, VA
Posts: 8
For testing, setup, stability, speed, and security purposes, I rather have a Ethernet port on my laptop. Without one, your laptop is useless when the Wireless connection goes down due to power, software corruption, or hardware failure. With a Ethernet port, you can at least troubleshoot or even repair the problem. With regular laptops and PCs, it is faster to copy/paste large files across the network on the LAN than through Wireless.
bluewind55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-11-2011, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
fred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 104
It doesn't hurt to buy the adapter. I would rather use that than to ask Google to put an Ethernet port in their Chromebooks. I think that would be a waste of time and resources they need for other things.
fred is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-11-2011, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewind55 View Post
For testing, setup, stability, speed, and security purposes, I rather have a Ethernet port on my laptop. Without one, your laptop is useless when the Wireless connection goes down due to power, software corruption, or hardware failure. With a Ethernet port, you can at least troubleshoot or even repair the problem. With regular laptops and PCs, it is faster to copy/paste large files across the network on the LAN than through Wireless.
I really don't think you'll have to worry about any of those things.
Droymac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-12-2011, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 34
I would say that if earlier notebooks did not have the ethernet port, then I do not see why their need would arise now, especially with wi-fi practically almost everywhere.
kngeiywo is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-12-2011, 11:52 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Whoah! Okay, this normally isn't a problem, but I am currently hooked up because my router dropped last night and customer service is closed on the weekends. Yes, you have the 3g backup but I may want to watch a movie today and 3g wouldn't provide the bandwidth. Thanks for the keen eye.
sk8nate is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2011, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
fred's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 104
OK I am officially going to buy an adapter from Best Buy! My parents are going to take me to Aruba later this year. Guess what? The hotel only has wireless in the lobby! Guess how you connect in the rooms? Oh the horror! Thank goodness you pointed that out or I would be doomed!
fred is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome