Not sure if I got the 3G model I paid for - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-15-2011, 11:50 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Not sure if I got the 3G model I paid for

I've got the series 5 and am pretty pleased with it via wifi. I paid for the 3G version, had it delivered to our address in USA, and my wife brought back to Switzerland where I am now. The verizon wireless does not work here, which is as I expected. However, I still expected there to be some indication that the machine was 3G capable. When I click on the connections icon top right should I not still something about verizon wireless? Since I see nothing, I'm thinking that I've received the wifi only version. Does anyone know what signs I can look for to show I got the right thing? Advice appreciated.
sage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-16-2011, 03:43 PM
BWR
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 53
I have the 3G, but do not have access to a wifi-only model, so I can tell you what I think might indicate the differences.

In the wrench/settings/Internet/General, I have a Disable Mobile Data button. Below that, in the Wireless Networks section, the last entry is Verizon Wireless and should show Connected or Disconnected and Activated or Not activated.

If you have the Verizon Wireless entry, hover the cursor over that line and an Options button will appear. Click on it and go to the Device and Network tabs. If the cell radio is present there should be a lot of hardware-specific data in there.
BWR is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-18-2011, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
thanks for your help. When I go the internet setting I do see the "disable mobile data" button But then in the list of networks, I don;t have anything related to verizon wireless.

It could be that because I am now outside the US it is disabled. But more likely I think is that I have the wrong model. Amazon, who I got this through, have no idea.

But didn't I read somewhere that the verizon will actually work abroad? if so that would pretty much wrap it up.
sage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-19-2011, 04:29 PM
BWR
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 53
I overlooked the obvious...the manufacturer's label on the bottom. My 3g Model has the model code: XE500C21-H02US. The wifi-only model appears to be:
XE500C21-A03US.
BWR is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 04:20 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
interesting, I have XE500C21-H01US. Very similar to yours.
sage is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-21-2011, 12:10 PM
BWR
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 53
Ahhh...that's the white 3G. Mine is the "almost black" color they call some kind of silver.
BWR is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-24-2011, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
I appreciate your help. It looks like I got the right thing. I'll hope that when I return the to US, then the verizon stuff just works.

I'm glad not to return it to Amazon because I'm very happy with it.
sage is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-20-2011, 12:40 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Just to close this, I am back in the US and was able to connect via Verizon. The icon appeared as soon as I got back here.
sage is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome