Wi-fi vs 3G - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 02:55 PM Thread Starter

Wi-fi vs 3G

so, I am new to this, but I really like the idea of a fuller machine than a tablet, even though I might get a tablet when the new ones come out...what does it mean to have 3G and to have wi-fi? Wi-fi I can use in my house or some other place where there is a wireless internet connection, right? And 3G requires a data plan (like with my Blackberry) is that right?

Thanks.
Karen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 02:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmjrose View Post
so, I am new to this, but I really like the idea of a fuller machine than a tablet, even though I might get a tablet when the new ones come out...what does it mean to have 3G and to have wi-fi? Wi-fi I can use in my house or some other place where there is a wireless internet connection, right? And 3G requires a data plan (like with my Blackberry) is that right?

Thanks.
Karen
welcome to the forum.

you are right about what 3G and WiFi is.

Which chromebook are you going to get, the 3G(with wifi) or the WiFi only chromebook?
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 03:39 PM Thread Starter

Thanks!! I am not as illiterate with this as I thought.

I am not sure what I am going to do. I just probably destroyed my laptop because the dog spilled a glass of water on it. So I am now desktop bound pretty much. So, I need a new computer. I am sort of thinking 3G, but since I have a phone and am seriously considering a tablet (why? I don't know, and I don't have lots of money so that may be a moot point) maybe I don't need 3G. I also have to wait for the Chromebook to be released, but not long...much indecision. Suggestions?
These chromebooks seem like a really good idea, not too big, but with a keyboard, unlike a tablet...???
Karen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2011, 12:26 PM