Before I buy... - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-26-2011, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Before I buy...

Just wondering if it's possible to maybe put another hard drive in a chrome book, and maybe run windows off of it. I want to get a chromebook since they are pretty low on cost and I like the concept of Chrome OS, but I don't want to leave my Windows apps behind.
SwiftLegend is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-26-2011, 05:31 PM
Super Moderator
 
russcasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 264
You can dual boot a regular laptop with chromeos, and although this would require some skills it must be easier than assembling a chromebook to install a bigger disk.


Or you could just use a remote desktop web app like thinVNC and just leave your windows apps on a desktop that you can access over the web.

Part of the point of chromebooks is that they dont have all that Windows bloat.
russcasey is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-26-2011, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
If you are installing Windows..then you are doing Chrome OS all wrong.. There is no space for HD though. Also the Verified boot isn't a standard BIOS...It seems to be closer to EFI but not...
Jason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2011, 01:36 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Oh alright, maybe I'll wait a while then. I'm not ready to give up my windows laptop
SwiftLegend is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-29-2011, 09:52 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
If you are considering Chromebooks but don't want to leave your Windows apps behind, you should look at Ericom AccessNow, a pure HTML5 RDP client that enables Chromebook users to connect to any RDP host, including Terminal Server (RDS Session Host), physical desktops or VDI virtual desktops – and run their applications and desktops in a browser.

Ericom‘s AccessNow does not require Java, Flash, Silverlight, ActiveX, or any other underlying technology to be installed on end-user devices – an HTML5 browser is all that is required.

For more info, and to download the beta, visit:
http://www.ericom.com/AccessNow
AGVirt is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-29-2011, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
AccessNow seems like an awesome idea..but at some point they are going to charge and charge a ton I bet since outside of citrix..they are a big player right now with companies moving to Chromebooks..
Jason is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-29-2011, 05:02 PM
Super Moderator
 
russcasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason View Post
AccessNow seems like an awesome idea..but at some point they are going to charge and charge a ton I bet since outside of citrix..they are a big player right now with companies moving to Chromebooks..
Doubt it. Citrix are at the top of the market, sure - but ThinVNC is free too and does the same thing
russcasey is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-29-2011, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by russcasey View Post
Doubt it. Citrix are at the top of the market, sure - but ThinVNC is free too and does the same thing
I thought ThinVNC was down via Flash? I haven't used it.
Jason is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-30-2011, 01:52 AM
Super Moderator
 
russcasey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 264
Testing thinVNC is the first thing I'll be doing when my chromebook arrives, but from what I can tell it is just html5. Flash shouldn't be a problem anyway tho.
russcasey is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-01-2011, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by russcasey View Post
Testing thinVNC is the first thing I'll be doing when my chromebook arrives, but from what I can tell it is just html5. Flash shouldn't be a problem anyway tho.
ThinVNC is awesome! great find. It is fully HTML5 from what I am reading. Tonight I am going to installing on my home desktop and testing it over the next week. I will let you guys know how it works out..I wonder if my steam apps will work well...play some games at work with my CR-48.....so awesome!
Jason is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome