C720 & Linksys WRT54g - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-30-2014, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
C720 & Linksys WRT54g

Just got an Acer Chromebook C720 and I have a Linksys WRT54gv8 router and it will NOT connect chromebook WiFi. Have PC, 2 Laptops, Smart TV, Kindle fire, Xbox, PS3, 2 Roku's connected to the router now. All work fine and have never really had a problem. The Router is WPA-TPIK but no joy connecting the Chromebook. thinking it is the Chrome OS, I do not know. Now the WRT54g was (I think) Noah's router but if it ain't broke....Last firmware update for the router was October 2009 and no new updates. Was thinking about getting a new router, any suggestions on which will handle all above and the Chromebook with the router secured. Tanks for any advice.
Machkin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2014, 02:07 AM
Super Moderator
 
Robbie Dalziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands...
Posts: 354
What procedure did you use, when attempting to connect your Chromebook to the internet: i.e. ~ how did you go about it???

I've found the chromebook to be the easiest piece of equipment ever: to connect to any router... Can't imagine why you are having problems...

Robbie....





We can only survive on this earth, as long as we're able to serve the purpose for which we came here...

Therein lies the 64,000 dollar question: 'What might that be'???
Robbie Dalziel is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2014, 03:07 AM
Super Moderator
 
Robbie Dalziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands...
Posts: 354
An afterthought...

Have you (by way of experimentation) tried disconnection one of more of the other items, to see if the chromebook will then go on line??? It may be that the older type of router, can only handle a set number of items, dependent on (in one case for instance) how many ports it can provide...

Again, it's just a passing thought... I think your router can open up to 10 ports... That doesn't mean to say it can now... But originally ~ it could... With all the equipment you have attached, it may be running near its limit...

Robbie....





We can only survive on this earth, as long as we're able to serve the purpose for which we came here...

Therein lies the 64,000 dollar question: 'What might that be'???
Robbie Dalziel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2014, 09:05 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Thanks for the suggestions Robbie, disconnected all but 3 items, chromebook is literally 3 feet from router, it shows my network but when I try to connect it will not and says "out of range". Have power router and modem down for 5 mins tried again same same. And this is select your language, keyboard, modem..click on modem, click on my network, type in security key and no connect and out of range (3 feet away).
Machkin is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2014, 01:59 PM
Super Moderator
 
Robbie Dalziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands...
Posts: 354
Sounds really strange... Not come across that before and I've no further suggestions that might resolve the problem...




We can only survive on this earth, as long as we're able to serve the purpose for which we came here...

Therein lies the 64,000 dollar question: 'What might that be'???
Robbie Dalziel is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2014, 02:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
I went into Linksys admin page and I had the MAC address filter endabled so it would only allow specific MAC addresses. Disabled MAC filter and it connected immediately. Problem solved. Take care all
Machkin is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-2014, 02:58 PM
Super Moderator
 
Robbie Dalziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands...
Posts: 354
Wow... Great thinking there Machkin... You deserve a gold star for getting it worked out, up and running; plus a couple more for putting everyone who'd been reading this: in the picture... And there's been a goodly audience...

Well done sunshine...


Robbie....




We can only survive on this earth, as long as we're able to serve the purpose for which we came here...

Therein lies the 64,000 dollar question: 'What might that be'???
Robbie Dalziel is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome