Acer - connect chromebook to Mcdonalds WiFi - Chromebook Forum : Google Chromebook Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-12-2013, 02:45 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 49
Acer - connect chromebook to Mcdonalds WiFi

Can not connect to WiFi in Mcdonalds location down the street. I chose the Wayport_Access for internet service, but never get the McDonald’s splash page where I should be able select the CONNECT button.

Free Wi-Fi :: McDonalds.com

Is there something I am doing in error. I can connect to my wired router, quite fast, and I can connect to the two unprotected wireless systems of my neighbours. But I can not get on-line at McDonald across the street and down a few hundred feet.

If someone can assist me I would certainly appreciate your time...

JR
Namida12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-21-2013, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 49
I finally created a user for the Chromebook, and today spent several hours using McDonald's wireless Wayport. I did a dslreports/speed test and managed 1.1M/330 that is faster than the local DSL service supplied on our street. Internet local DSL service one street to the east is glass fibre and they are fast, 20 times faster than our street.

Internet from the cable service is faster and a requirement since Google did not choose our city to offer the gigabyte service. We are one of the counties that made an exclusive contract with two companies - Cable, and DSL service is locked tight to our current county politicians, thus we will never have any wired internet competition that would lower the prices dramatically.

I will test several different WiFi locations to see if there are services that appear to be faster that the MCDonalds I tested this morning.

JR
Namida12 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-16-2013, 08:23 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
What was the fix?

I recently purchased my chromebook and started setting it up all last night. All was well. I went to McDonald's as I do every morning to catch up on e-mails etc, and ran into the exact same problem. I could never get the splash page to show up to accept terms of service etc.

I consider myself pretty tech savvy, but could not find a work around. What did you finally do to be able to connect?

I appreciate any help you can provide. Thanks for your time.
dshipps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-07-2013, 10:12 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
At least I'm not the only one with this problem. It just sits in limbo and never gets to the red sign in page. Thankfully I have xfinity coverage at the one McDonalds, but quite a few places use Wayport so I hope this isn't a generic issue with access the wayport site to gain access.

I'm fairly tech savvy, but I couldn't figure out why the page wouldn't load. I copied and saved the link that wouldn't load and restarted several times but couldn't get it to connect any which way. My phone and Surface connected no problem.
crogs is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-24-2014, 12:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Frederick Maryland
Posts: 5
Sorry for this extremely LATE reply...

But I just walked into McDonalds the other day and logged right into their wireless network. No mess no fuss..just log on and did my thing for a few minutes while having a quick lunch ..
Bob327 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-07-2014, 05:06 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namida12 View Post
Can not connect to WiFi in Mcdonalds location down the street. I chose the Wayport_Access for internet service, but never get the McDonald’s splash page where I should be able select the CONNECT button.

Free Wi-Fi :: McDonalds.com

Is there something I am doing in error. I can connect to my wired router, quite fast, and I can connect to the two unprotected wireless systems of my neighbours. But I can not get on-line at McDonald across the street and down a few hundred feet.

If someone can assist me I would certainly appreciate your time...

JR
I was having the same problem. What I did was delete everything in the URL after .com and refresh. Worked for me! hope it works for you guys!
sammyalyssa is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome