Google Chromebook Forums banner

Any large companies in on Google Chromebook yet?

6K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  AGVirt 
#1 ·
Have there been any notable companies or businesses who have indicated that they might be switching over to using Google Chromebooks yet? With the monthly package and the cloud I can see how this could help businesses.

#6 ·
I think the Chromebook will be very appealing to one huge business - The US Government. They could save a lot of money by using the Chromebook, and also have much better security control than they do with Windows. I look forward to seeing our government make the switch and lead this country into the 21st century!

#7 ·
Personally, if all the features we needed were available on a Chromebook, I'd recommend we move to them for our entire company where I work in IT.

We're currently migrating to Google Apps - which I've been using for my own personal business for quite some time. I see us leveraging more and more of the features in the coming months and years as our workforce becomes more and more familiar with what's available within Google Apps.

Sure, there are some things that we can't do on them yet - but as more and more of our products move to a web interface, I see these as being a possibility for more and more of our employees. In the end, if they put a remote desktop client on these, I can see them using a Chomebook for most of their work, and a virtual machine for anything that's not supported. The only problem is a lot of the larger businesses are only writing their products to run on Internet Explorer. I'm hoping that changes in the near future where these apps are supported on other browsers.

As for the government, I'm not sure it would provide the savings suggested since the change of them outsourcing all their storage to someone else could be an issue. I do see some movement in this direction since the OMB just approved Google Apps - but time will tell.

#10 ·